Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to use our cookies. Learn more

New european common commemorative euro coin: 30 anniversary of the european flag

By rcintas on the

After a series of advices regarding the coin identification, guessing the mint date or some of their characteristics and mintages that increment their value, this week we bring you information regarding a new European issue.

European Flag

Along this year a new common commemorative coin will be issued in all the European Union Countries. Until now, the countries from the Euro zone have jointly minted three commemorative 2 Euro coins. These coins are presented with a common design in the national face, in which the minting country is written, also the event they commemorate, in the language or languages that correspond.

The coins minted until now are:


This year 2015 the fourth common coin will be minted, dedicated to the 30th anniversary of the European Flag. As a curiosity we can point out that in this case first the came to the agreement of a new common mintage, without a specific reason. To select that reason the following ones where proposed:

  • 70 anniversary of the end of the Second World War
  • 65 anniversary of the Schuman Declaration, the 9th of May of 1950 (the 9th of may is known now as the “Day of Europe”)
  • 30 anniversary of the European flag (in 1985 the flag was adopted by all the leaders from the EU as the official emblem of the European Union)
  • 50 anniversary of the death of Sir Winston Churchill (who always stood up for the “United States of Europe”)

Finally, it was decided to commemorate the thirtieth anniversary of the adoption of the flag as an official emblem for the European Communities.

The European flag formed by 12 yellow stars in a circle over a blue background, design made in 1955 by Arsène Heitz, a painter from Strasbourg. It shows twelve stars because the number twelve is traditionally the symbol of perfection, the complete and unity. Therefore, the flag does not changes with the expansion of countries members of the union. It was adopted as official symbol in June of 1985, being used as an emblem in all European institutions since 1986.

The official mint houses presented a total of 62 possible designs for the coin. From there five were selected as finalists by a professional jury.

Alternative designs

The winning design was selected by the citizens and residents in the Euro zone, through a poll that was made through the official web of the economic and financial affairs directorate, with the participation of more than 100.000 European citizens.

The results where made public last 28th of may, the selected design was the fourth one, presented by the artist George Stamatopoulos, belonging to The Banknote Printing Works of the Bank of Greece (IETA), near Halandri. Georgios won the first prize after obtaining more than the 30% of the votes.

Winner design

Georgios Stamatopoulos is a professional designer that works in the Greek Bank, his designs have also appeared in other common coins, specifically the design of the coin in 2009 to commemorate the ten years of Euro banknotes and coins.

Following Georgios, his design represents “twelve stars that transform in human silhouettes that receive the birth of a new Europe”. At the same time, “the flag is a symbol that unites the people and cultures that share a point of view and an aspiration for a better common future”

Around 75 million coins will be minted with the new design since the second semester of this year. The coin will be minted by the 19 states member of the EU belonging to the euro zone (this excludes Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and The Vatican).

More information regarding this new coin can be found here.